Home

Two comics you’re missing out on: The Unbeatable Squirrel Girl#4  and Intersect #6 are What’s on the Table! These two books couldn’t be more different, but they’re both great and not enough people are reading them.


The Unbeatable Squirrel Girl #4 by Ryan North (Writer), Erica Henderson (Artist), Chris Giarrusso (Trading Card Art), Rico Renzi (Colorist), VC’s Clayton Cowles (Letterer)The Unbeatable Squirrel Girl #4 Review - What's on the Table

I’ve been raving about this comic since day one, have you started reading it yet? Every issue has been progressively more hilarious and clever. The Galactus encounter has been teased since the end of issue one, and after two issues of build up… it’s finally here. I was just a little worried this issue would struggle living up to the hype, but North, Henderson, and Renzi just keep delivering! There’s nothing out there in comics right now quite as playful and shamelessly fun as this ongoing series has been, and I’m saying that as a reader of Lumberjanes, Howard the Duck, and Giant Days. If you disagree I’m all ears, tell me about some other fun comics in the comments! I want more comics that make me laugh like this in my life, and I want to share them with others too.

Issue #1 with Kraven set the precedent, this is a character who thinks outside the box and solves problems not by being the strongest, but by being the most creative, by being the most optimistic, and by never losing her confidence and belief in herself. Doreen Green is a pretty inspiring gal and I encourage you to get to know her, her roommate Nancy, and the cat Mew in the previous issues, it’s worth the ride! You can always buy back issues at your friendly neighborhood comic book store or digitally at Comixology. If you want to read more about Squirrel Girl before you throw your hard earned cash at this awesome creative team, check out my review of issue 1.

Intersect #6 by Ray Fawkes (Writer and Artist)Intersect #6 Review - What's on the Table

I’m not going to say a lot about this particular issue because it’s concluding the arc, or perhaps renewing the cycle depending on how you read it…anyway, I love this comic a lot and you can read about why in my first review of it. I like reading things that challenge me, I like reading things that creep me out and confuse me. I like ethereal looking art. Combine these things and you get Intersect, a strange comic about body horror and loneliness that might also be about love and companionship. Or maybe it’s about monstrosity in humans or humanity in monsters. I’m still not really sure. As much as I enjoy this kind of comic I have no illusions about it appealing to main stream audiences but I think it’s remarkable just that it exists and that a publisher like Image is putting it out there. So hats off to you Ray Fawkes for creating something really interesting and making it happen. The future of this series really depends on sales of the first trade paperback at this point, so if you are at all interested in this Kafka-like take on the comic book medium than I encourage you to preorder or purchase volume one which will collect the first six issues of the series. So check out Intersect Volume 1: Metamorph.


Other stuff you should read this week!

Black Hood #3 [Archie Comics]

Lady Mechanika: the Tablet of Destines #1 of 6 [Benitez Productions]

Curb Stomp #3 of 4 [BOOM!]

Giant Days #1 – 2nd Printing [BOOM!]

Tomb Raider #15 [Dark Horse]

Kaptara #1 [Image]

Black Widow #17 [Marvel]

Loki: Agent of Asgard Volume 2: I Cannot Tell a Lie [Marvel]

Star Wars #4 [Marvel]

The Death-Defying Doctor Mirage TP[Valiant] – check out my single issue reviews of this limited series which is slated to be a a returning series in the future called The Death-Defying Doctor Mirage: Second Life.

Leave a comment